Patient Reviews

Patient Reviews

The exceptionally skilled team at Dr. Raymond Sekula is passionate about treating individuals near New York, NY with a host of cranial nerve disorders, acoustic neuromas, and other skull base disorders. Over the years, our staff has received many testimonials from people of all ages who have benefited from our comprehensive care. We encourage prospective patients to look over our large register of reviews and look forward to the outcomes you could achieve by placing your confidence in the hands of our team.

Reviews for Hemifacial Spasm Conditions We Treat Near New York, NY

5.0 Review from R.S. Source: Google Jan 10 2024

"Feb 3, 2021, almost 3 years ago, Dr. Sekula performed some surgical magic and cured me of a hemifacial spasm that I had been dealing with for 12 years. One of the things I liked about Dr. Sekula was his ability to share data on the outcomes of his many prior surgeries. That gave me the data to evaluate my own risk/reward. I deal with numbers and statistics every day in my day job, so I found that comforting. His approach to diagnosis and recommendation seemed very methodical as well. After evaluating me, he said he thought he could help me, but was very honest about the risks and rewards. I completely appreciate that approach. I had seen another doctor about getting an MVD many years earlier but he did not instill that confidence that I got from going to one of the most preeminent MVD surgeons in the world. In the end, results are what matters and he and his team delivered. I have been spasm free for nearly 3 years now and that part of my life is in the rear view mirror. Also, he and his team contact me annually to see how I am doing, add my results to his data set, and communicate that to future sufferers who find themselves in his office. Thank you Dr. Sekula. I hope you never retire and continue helping people like me."

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google Jan 09 2024

"Dr Sekula performed hemifacial spasms surgery on me almost 10 years ago significantly improving the quality of my life. I am externally grateful and highly recommend him. God bless him and his staff who performed the surgery!!"

5.0 Review from M.L. Source: Office Visit Jan 04 2024

"Hello Doctor Sekula, I had HFS surgery last November 2022. Hemifacial spasms cause the right side of my face and eye to twitch, especially when I lie down at night. One year after surgery, my symptoms completely disappeared. I got my face and eyes back. In April 1981, I escaped my hometown on a small fishing boat offshore. I thought I was reborn after finding a free land. In November 2022, I met you and you saved my life again. I cannot express how happy I am. I have never felt the value of life like I do now. I take this opportunity to thank the HFS Worldwide team on Facebook. I found this group when I was desperately looking for a doctor. This is the first time I know your name and have strong feelings about my choice of surgeon. Unlike other clinics or doctors, responses take longer. Or I have to call back multiple times. You called me back shortly after I left a message at your office. I remember you told me you could cure my symptoms. I scheduled my appointment and planned my trip to NY quickly because I had been waiting for this moment for so many years. Please remember one thing. I will spread the great work to the hemifacial spasm group that you cured my hemifacial spasm. Please add another successful patient to your list. Yours sincerely. M.L.L."

5.0 Review from D.D. Source: Google Dec 04 2023

"After much research and prayerful consideration, a decision was made to fly from Oklahoma to NYC for MVD surgery under the skilled hands of Dr. Sekula. I had had progressively worsening hemifacial spasm for 12 years, but even at 70 years of age, I needed permanent relief. Dr. Sekula was kind and compassionate, and I woke up spasm free. I am still spasm free after 4 weeks, and extremely grateful! Why did I wait so long??? Thank you Dr. Sekula, Caroline, and all the staff of New York Presbyterian Hospital!! Highly recommend. Camilla Dude"

5.0 Review from S.G. Source: Other Nov 10 2023

"Dr. Sekula, It’s now been 11 weeks since my MVD surgery….to say that it has changed my life is an understatement at best. Suffering with this affliction for 4 years had been devastating. When I found out you were moving to NYC, I knew it was meant to be that I would have my MVD surgery with you. As your very first patient at Columbia with my January 2022 virtual appointment, I promised to send before and after photos as you requested! I finally feel emotionally ready to do so. Hitting the jackpot with 2 disorders, HFS and Chiari malformation meant there was a possibility that surgery would have to be stopped if there was no room for you to reach the offending nerve/blood vessel compression causing my Hemifacial Spasm. Thankfully, because of you, that was not the case, and surgery was successfully completed. It’s actually hard now to remember the spasms as I have not had a single one since I woke up post surgery. It wasn’t until 4 AM the morning after my surgery that I realized my face was “quiet”, the best feeling ever. Thank you for changing my life with this surgery, it is such a joy to be able to smile again and look people in the eye without worrying about my face. I feel so very fortunate to have found you and even happier that you moved to NYC, so close to where I live! With warmest regards, S.G."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google Sep 18 2023

"Dr. Sekula and his team are responsive and thorough. I sought out several opinions before deciding to travel to New York for surgery. He and his team made it effortless."

5.0 Review from S.D. Source: Google Aug 08 2023

"Dr Sekula gave me back my life! I had two prior MVD surgeries for HFS at another hospital that helped some, didn’t completely bring me relief. Dr Sekula was able to resolve my HFS. He is a confident, patient doctor that genuinely cares about his patients and solving their medical issues. Thank you!"

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google Jul 21 2023

"Dr. Sekula is a terrific surgeon. I suffered from strong hemifacial spasms for several years. I underwent quarterly botox treatments thru a local neurologist for over 3 years. Over time, the botox treatments substantially diminished in effectiveness. I found Dr. Sekula through extensive online research. I also consulted with my son-in-law who is a surgeon (different speciality) and who did his own research. In February 2015, I traveled to Pittsburg where Dr. Sekula performed microvascular decompression surgery . Immediately after the surgery and for the next 3 months, my spasms were weak as they diminished in strength and frequency. Then, my facial spasms stopped. I have been spasm free for 8 years. I am eternally grateful for Dr. Sekula."

5.0 Review from R. Source: Healthgrades Jun 16 2023

"Writing this review post MVD surgery for HFS. It has been 2 months since the surgery. My decision to have the surgery was not taken lightly, have been considering it but was not brave enough. The b treatment stopped working for me and I finally decided to get the surgery done. Now post-surgery wondering why I delayed.I had a very good experience with Dr. Raymond Sekula and have been following him since he was at UPMC. Knew that if I wanted to get the MVD surgery it had to be with Dr. Sekula, considering his experience. Would not trust anyone else. Travelled from out of state to New York. At Columbia Neurosurgery, New York I had an initial tele appointment with Dr. Sekula, he was very patient and answered all my questions ,be prepared, write them down. He also has a wonderful team and they really guide you along the entire process. My experience at Columbia Neurosurgery was great, right from the initial consultations, actual surgery and post-surgery care at the hospital. "

5.0 Review from R. Source: Healthgrades Jun 16 2023

"Excellent Neurosurgeon! - Writing this review post MVD surgery for HFS. It has been 2 months since the surgery. My decision to have the surgery was not taken lightly, have been considering it but was not brave enough. The b treatment stopped working for me and I finally decided to get the surgery done. Now post-surgery wondering why I delayed.I had a very good experience with Dr. Raymond Sekula and have been following him since he was at UPMC. Knew that if I wanted to get the MVD surgery it had to be with Dr. Sekula, considering his experience. Would not trust anyone else. Travelled from out of state to New York. At Columbia Neurosurgery, New York I had an initial tele appointment with Dr. Sekula, he was very patient and answered all my questions ,be prepared, write them down. He also has a wonderful team and they really guide you along the entire process. My experience at Columbia Neurosurgery was great, right from the initial consultations, actual surgery and post-surgery care at the hospital. "

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google May 04 2023

"My father had semifacial spasms and had decompression surgery in late 2019. He has not had a twitch since and other than a scar, no one would ever know his eye would close shut when he spoke or ate or even breathed. Dr. Sekula gave my father a second chance for a social life and comfort of knowing that he isn’t a medical mystery that no one can fix. When Dr. Sekula moved from Pittsburgh to NY, he even personally called my father to let him know. I will forever sing praises about Dr. Sekula and his amazing treatment of my father."

5.0 Review from S.-. Source: Healthgrades Aug 20 2020

"Dr. Raymond Sekula performed a micro-vascular decompression (MVD) on my 7th cranial nerve to alleviate a hemifacial spasm. The surgery was a complete success! The experience was the best medical experience I have ever had. His staff is top notch-responsive, caring, professional, and highly experienced with hemifacial spasm patients. Dr. Sekula himself is a quiet and unassuming man, with a quick smile and dedicated to excellence in the treatment of hemifacial spasm using a minimally invasive technique that allowed me to go home the day following surgery. I would (and have!) highly recommend him for hemifacial spasm patients. I traveled from Florida to Pennsylvania solely because I would have no one but Dr. Sekula be my surgeon. I trusted him 100% and he answered all of my questions patiently and fully. His office is efficient, kind, and well-organized. He's simply an awesome, caring, expert surgeon! Five stars is not high enough for this man !"

5.0 Review from J. Source: Healthgrades Jul 14 2020

"Dr.Sekula and his team were remarkable. Very knowledgeable in my hfs condition. I trusted him and his team. Everyone was kind and helpful!"

5.0 Review from D.T. Source: Healthgrades Jul 06 2020

"What can I possibly say that can be worthy of what an Amazing Human, and Surgeon this man is. I did my research, and traveled to him. He is truly the best of the best, and I wouldn’t have gone to anyone else. MVD surgery in anyone else’s hands could have consequences that I would never want to face. He is the Master. I have been spasm free since the day he laid hands on me 7/19/16. God Blesses and guides his hands."

5.0 Review from B. Source: Healthgrades Jun 24 2019

"After 10+ years of suffering with a facial nerve disorder (hemi-facial spasms), I met with Dr, Sekula at his UPMC Presbyterian Hospital office. He confirmed my diagnosis and performed MVD (microvascular decompression surgery the next day. He was successful in giving me back my normal face. He is thorough, compassionate and caring with his patients!"

5.0 Review from C. Source: Healthgrades Jun 24 2019

"Dr. Sekula is an incredible surgeon. He is very thorough and thoughtful. He was very blunt about what could go wrong but his stats were on my side with less than 1% of his 1,000 patients having hearing loss or stroke. I came out of surgery on Friday spasm free and he stayed all weekend to make sure I was healing and comfortable. Two big thumbs up. Highly recommend him. It was a life altering event for me. Thank you Dr. Sekula!! "

5.0 Review from Anonymous Source: Healthgrades May 09 2019

"After nearly 8 years of dealing with hemifacial spasms due to an arterial compression I finally flew up to see Dr. Sekula for a consultation. He confirmed the diagnosis with an MRI, lateral spread test, and by observing my clinical symptoms. What a relief it was to watch Dr. Sekula look at my MRI and say “there it is”. After years of facial twitching, spasms, sensations I finally had an answer. And it could be treated via MVD surgery. Dr. Sekula performed MVD surgery on me in October of 2017 with excellent results. I am writing this review 18 months post surgery and still can’t believe what a fantastic outcome I’ve experienced. The entire staff at UPMC is very professional and treated me with kindness and compassion. Dr. Sekula’s resume speaks for itself. MVD is incredibly specialized surgery. I can’t imagine what my life would be like had I not made this important decision. No regrets. "

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google Aug 04 2017

"I had MVD surgery for Hemifacial Spasm last April, and I am absolutely delighted with the results. My spasms were immediately gone when I awoke. Dr. Sekula and his head nurse Ann were very nice, patient and answered all my questions. Dr. Sekula was there when I awoke from surgery to no more spasms. I had a private, quiet room with great care, and my recovery was very quick. Drove back to Michigan 3 days after the surgery."

5.0 Review from Anonymous Source: Vitals Oct 31 2016

"Dr. Sekula cured me of my hemi-facial spasm! I had my operation in 2010 and it was a success! He gave me my smile back and allowed me to re-enter life and work again. For those who do not know, a hemi-facial spasm is an ongoing tic or spasm of one side of the face and eye that cannot be stopped without surgery. 24/7 spasm! I am so grateful that Dr. Sekula chose to go to medical school for his career and grateful that he is so learned and talented. :)"

5.0 Review from Anonymous Source: Vitals Feb 20 2012

"Dr. Sekula performed my MVD surgery for hemifacial spasm a couple of months ago He did an excellent job, and the surgery was a real success with no side effects or complications. He is a brilliant surgeon, extremely capable, caring and compassionate. Very highly recommended."

5.0 Review from Anonymous Source: Vitals Feb 14 2012

"Dr. Sekula should be the model for the medical field. Outside of being an outstanding surgeon, he is an incredible human being. Dr. Sekula performed MVD surgery for hemifacial spasm in 2012 and I have been spasm free since waking from the recovery room. Dr. Sekula changed my life and if you are unlucky enough to have this condition, he is the one surgeon that can relieve the situation."
*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.