Patient Reviews

Patient Reviews

The exceptionally skilled team at Dr. Raymond Sekula is passionate about treating individuals near New York, NY with a host of cranial nerve disorders, acoustic neuromas, and other skull base disorders. Over the years, our staff has received many testimonials from people of all ages who have benefited from our comprehensive care. We encourage prospective patients to look over our large register of reviews and look forward to the outcomes you could achieve by placing your confidence in the hands of our team.

Reviews for Trigeminal Neuralgia Conditions We Treat Near New York, NY

5.0 Review from E.C. Source: Google Mar 09 2024

"I suffer from trigeminal neuralgia since 2012. I seen many surgeons, some in New York and CT which truly never gave me a straight forward answer about my condition. Unfortunately, I did not tolerated meds for it and I suffer w it for many years. Last year it aggravated to a point that life stop making sense. While searching for a surgeon I read a story of a young man on his page w a similar story of feeling no way out but Dr. Sekula change his life. I can say the same, the surgery he did took away the trigeminal pain. I am in disbelief of how I don’t have any pain whatsoever. Dr. Sekula changed my life. my family as myself have so much gratitude. I highly recommend Dr. Sekula to anyone who is suffering from trigeminal neuralgia. Now I can enjoy life to the fullest w the people I love."

5.0 Review from K.C. Source: Google Feb 13 2024

"Dr. Sekula performed MVD on my mother who has been suffering ftom trigeminal neuralgia for several years now. Quick surgery and a recovery with no complications. Knowledgable and passionate doctor."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Jan 22 2024

"I suffered from Trigeminal Neuralgia 8 years ago. Prior to diagnosis my dentist thought it was because I needed a root canal. 1 Root canal and tooth extraction later, it seemed to have gone, but then returned. I begin to see a neurologist and I was then treated with drugs. It seemed to mitigate, but I would get intense flare ups periodically. Life relocated us to Pittsburgh, where upon I did some research on the UPMC website. I was quickly pointed to Dr. Sekula and an appointment was made. Dr. Sekula met with me and quickly and recommended the vascular decompression. I was quickly set for surgery. The result was immediate. No flareups, or anything in the last 5 years. This was life changing surgery for me. Dr. Sekula has subsequently moved on to Columbia University and wish him the best. You could not be in better hands for this condition."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Sep 18 2023

"After having suffered with trigeminal neuralgia for a number of years, getting worse each time it returned, I am so grateful that I have found this practice. Dr. Sekula and his team are both expert and compassionate. I reccomend them most highly. I know now that there are a number options for treating this disease."

5.0 Review from K.T. Source: Healthgrades Mar 31 2023

"Dr Sekula is an incredible doctor. A one in a million neurosurgeon. His knowledge and understanding of trigeminal neuralgia is above and beyond. He did microvascular decompression on me and I have never been happier. He and his staff are very caring and kind. The speed of their responses are amazing. I am so grateful to have found him. There's no one else I'd recommend. He is top-notch. "

5.0 Review from K.T. Source: Healthgrades Mar 31 2023

"Top Notch - Dr Sekula is an incredible doctor. A one in a million neurosurgeon. His knowledge and understanding of trigeminal neuralgia is above and beyond. He did microvascular decompression on me and I have never been happier. He and his staff are very caring and kind. The speed of their responses are amazing. I am so grateful to have found him. There's no one else I'd recommend. He is top-notch. "

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Feb 04 2023

"I suffered for 18 1/2 years with the suicide disease. Dr. Sekula operated on me and he by God's grace healed me. Dr.Sekula is an exceptional doctor and human being. I am grateful for my mvd."

5.0 Review from T.C. Source: Healthgrades Dec 29 2022

"Dr. Sekula graciously agreed to see me, without an appointment, after he completed his last consultation of the day. After five years of ever-increasing trigeminal neuralgia pain and countless doses of medicines that had ceased working, I found myself talking to a very knowledgeable, professional, kind and caring doctor. Confidence was immediate. The official diagnosis and treatment, (Microvascular decompression of the trigeminal nerve) were arrived at only after a very thorough discussion regarding the history and symptoms of my condition as well as further medical imaging. And now, recovery seems surreal. Free from pain, I have my life back again. Many thanks, Dr. Sekula, to you and your wonderful team of professionals!"

5.0 Review from T.C. Source: Healthgrades Dec 29 2022

"Highly recommended- Dr. Sekula - Dr. Sekula graciously agreed to see me, without an appointment, after he completed his last consultation of the day. After five years of ever-increasing trigeminal neuralgia pain and countless doses of medicines that had ceased working, I found myself talking to a very knowledgeable, professional, kind and caring doctor. Confidence was immediate. The official diagnosis and treatment, (Microvascular decompression of the trigeminal nerve) were arrived at only after a very thorough discussion regarding the history and symptoms of my condition as well as further medical imaging. And now, recovery seems surreal. Free from pain, I have my life back again. Many thanks, Dr. Sekula, to you and your wonderful team of professionals!"

5.0 Review from C. Source: Healthgrades Nov 04 2022

"A Completely Positive Experience - I met Dr. Sekula via telemedicine for trigeminal neuralgia. He was very personable and listened carefully. I traveled to NYC for a high-resolution MRI and, if indicated, microvascular decompression surgery (MVD).Dr. Sekula reviewed the MRI images with me and patiently answered all my questions. He felt the MVD would benefit me and I made the well-informed decision to have the procedure the next morning.Dr. Sekula visited before surgery and conveyed his confidence that this was the right course of action. He visited in recovery, debriefed the successful surgery, made an icepack for me and called friends to let them know I was OK. I spent the night in the hospital, was visited by Dr. Sekula and team at 0900 and was discharged at 1200. Recovery has been quick with follow-up at home by email, text and telemedicine.Space doesn’t allow for me to adequately convey my gratitude to Dr. Sekula who is, in my opinion, both a great surgeon and a kind, friendly and compassionate human being."

5.0 Review from C. Source: Healthgrades Nov 04 2022

"I met Dr. Sekula via telemedicine for trigeminal neuralgia. He was very personable and listened carefully. I traveled to NYC for a high-resolution MRI and, if indicated, microvascular decompression surgery (MVD).Dr. Sekula reviewed the MRI images with me and patiently answered all my questions. He felt the MVD would benefit me and I made the well-informed decision to have the procedure the next morning.Dr. Sekula visited before surgery and conveyed his confidence that this was the right course of action. He visited in recovery, debriefed the successful surgery, made an icepack for me and called friends to let them know I was OK. I spent the night in the hospital, was visited by Dr. Sekula and team at 0900 and was discharged at 1200. Recovery has been quick with follow-up at home by email, text and telemedicine.Space doesn’t allow for me to adequately convey my gratitude to Dr. Sekula who is, in my opinion, both a great surgeon and a kind, friendly and compassionate human being."

5.0 Review from R.N. Source: Healthgrades Sep 11 2019

"Dr. Sekula saved my life in a way. Two years I could not eat,drink, or even talk without pain. He performed brain surgery on me and it worked and now I am myself again. I can have dinner with my wife and not be embarrassed by having her cut up my food in tiny pieces for me to eat. I can have a drink with the neighbors and not have to suffer through serious facial pain. I can now shave in the morning without putting an ice bag on my face to numb it to be able torun a razor over it. What a great person Dr. Sekula is a great doctor very compassionate and understanding of my problems. You will not find another doctor In Pittsburgh Pa or anywhere who is so dedicated to his profession. The good doctor follow up procedures are outstanding. He called me personally to ask how I was doing he really cares for his patients. I was so lucky to have him as my doctor."

5.0 Review from T.W. Source: Google Aug 04 2019

"My husband Don and I are from DE. Dr Sekula was our guardian angel. After a year of suffering and visiting other doctors, Dr. Sekula cured my husband’s trigeminal neurolgia, eye/facial pain, w much confidence. He is very professional, and personable. Very up front, honest, very caring, and VERY committed to his work. I cannot stress enough—-he is an amazing doctor in every way!! My husband has been 100 % pain free since March 2019."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Healthgrades Jul 18 2018

"A few weeks ago I got a surprise call from Dr. Sekula. 2 1/2 yrs ago he performed micro vascular decompression surgery on me for TGN which I suffered with for 15 yrs. He wanted to know how I was doing and if any pain had come back. I was happy to report to him that I still have no pain and haven’t had to deal with the side effects of tegretol! Dr. Sekula saved my sanity. I owe him my pain free life. He & his staff were wonderful! I give him the highest rating possible! "

5.0 Review from Anonymous Source: Vitals Nov 11 2017

"I first met Dr. Sekula when my husband and I went back to support my daughter and son-in-law through his macro decompression surgery to treat his very painful trigeminal Neuralgia. We met Dr. Sekula who was very gracious and informative about the surgery. He answered all of our many questions andmade us all feel very comfortable. More importantly, the surgery was a complete success and Roy has had NO PAIN since the day of his surgery and was released from the hospital the next day. Three years later I was diagnosed with the same disorder. The pain was "over the top" and when it reached the point of really limiting my life style, I called Dr. Sekula's office and asked to be scheduled for surgery. I was scheduled for the following week, flew back to Pittsburg from California, had the surgery, woke up to absolutely no pain and have never experienced any pain since. My surgery was Nov.2, 2015 and I now celebrate it as my second birthday. Dr. Sekula worked a miracle in my life and I thank God every day for physicians such as him. Additionally, he found that I have an aneurism which Stanford Hospital totally missed in my MRI. Thank you, thank you, Dr. Sekula"

5.0 Review from M.F. Source: Healthgrades Oct 31 2017

"Five stars is not nearly enough to rate my experience with Dr. Sekula. He gave me my life back, cured my trigeminal neuralgia completely with a complicated surgery that he is the absolute best at. Patients come to him from far away for good reason. The entire neurosurgery dept. is the best, but Dr. Sekula is the best of the best. "

5.0 Review from Anonymous Source: Vitals Apr 25 2017

"I was diagnosed with atypical trigeminal neuralgia and was two weeks away from having Microvascular Decompression Surgery with another doctor at AGH. Through much research, Dr. Sekula was discovered. My family and I traveled to Hamot UMPC to meet with him for a second opinion. At Hamot, I received a MRI that specifically targeted the nerves on the left side of my jaw. When we met with Dr. Sekula, he said that I was not a candidate for MVD surgery and that it might make my condition worse to have the surgery. This appointment was bittersweet for me. I was hoping that I would be out of pain soon with the surgery, but I am grateful that Dr. Sekula took the time to investigate whether I was a good candidate or not. Type 2 trigeminal neuralgia is rare (constant chronic pain); the research my family under covered suggested that MVD surgery only has a 50/50 chance of success. After Dr. Sekula examined my MRI, he saved me from having brain surgery that would not have been successful. He made suggestions to help me cope with the pain. I am hoping that with time they work."

5.0 Review from P. Source: Healthgrades Dec 02 2016

"I met with Dr. Sekula after having a terrible experience with medicines and several procedures that failed by another doctor. My encounter with Dr. Sekula was life-saving! I suffered with trigeminal neuralgia for three miserable years and had one bad experience after another with neurologists and neurosurgeons. After a successful and minimally invasive procedure by Dr. Sekula, I am completely off massive doses of medicines that produced terrible side effects and my pain is 90-95% gone! "

5.0 Review from J. Source: Healthgrades Aug 22 2016

"After eight years of dealing with TN, I researched the top five TN neurosurgeons in the US and I chose Dr. Sekula. I like that he is innovative in his technique and he has a 95%+ success rate. He doesn't use a halo, he uses a microscope, he glues the incision, and I was able to go from consult to post surgery in one six day trip to Pittsburgh, I awoke from surgery without TN pain and have been for over six months now! compassionate care by phone and email post surgery. Great guy! "

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Aug 04 2016

"Best Neurosurgen in the country, I have trigeminal neuralgia, he did a micro vascular decompression after a botched one in Fl. I was all over the I was searching for help, and finally found Dr. Sekula. TN is a difficult, extremely painful condition. Starting in Fl. with gamma knife that was one of the worst things I had done, radiating the sheath off the nerve instead of a scar on the nerve. Then a MVD to remove one blood vessel off the nerve and screwed the skull together. Now the screws have scar tissue the size of peas. I can't lay on the left side of my head. Then 2 years later I found Dr. Sekula in Pittsburgh, he and Dr Peter Jenneta, the developer of the MVD took off 4 more blood vessels and put a piece of Teflon between a major blood vessel and the nerve. Since then Dr. Sekula did 3 glycerol rysoyomys. All successful, but since then I have had several procedures done Fl. Which left me worse than before. I'm waiting until summer to go back to Pittsburgh, to cold now for me. The success rate in Orlando is nil to none for my condition."

5.0 Review from Anonymous Source: Vitals Jul 29 2015

"Dr. Sekula is more than a 5 star neurosurgeon. He has excellent interpersonal skills and takes the time to explain needed to explain procedures and potential outcomes with patients. I would encourage anyone suffering with trigeminal neuralgia to consult with him. I am so thankful to have found such a skilled and caring clinician."

5.0 Review from Anonymous Source: Vitals Apr 03 2011

"Doctor Sekula is exceptional. He understands trigeminal neuralgia, and he will make certain that you receive the correct treatment."

5.0 Review from Anonymous Source: Vitals Apr 17 2010

"Dr. Sekula is a fabulous person and Dr. I had a microvascular decompression of my left trigeminal nerve in Dec 2009, and although my surgery did not cure me, I feel that I was in the best hands. Before surgery he introduced me to the people that were going to be in the operating room, and afterwards he chedked on me several times. He is a very caring and compassionate Dr. and I feel that he is the best Neurosurgeon I have ever met, and I have met several due to my condition. He still keeps tabs on me and I know that one day he will be able to fix my problem. If you have trigeminal neuralgia this is the man to see."
*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.